

# Windham Ridge School Council

Tuesday, October 1, 2024 6:30-8:45 p.m.

In Attendance		
Council Attendance	Guest Attendance	Regrets
Farida Babrawalla	Malahat Ahmad (online)	Houda Alassad
Diana Li	Raquel Batres	Afarin Foroughymehr
Rocco Di Lena	Andrea Bean	Flo Hu
Mariam Kottab	Hyemin Lee	Parvaz Kirouac
Cassandre Lennox	Mel Louie	Melissa Kurz
Jodie Montagnese	Erica Mayhew	Ange Lambros
Maryam Movaselli (online)	Irene Petre	Patricia Lambros
Lisa Schiafone	Rojeen Salemi	Qian Li
Diana Shin	Satareh Yaghini	Sukaina Shiraly
Lucy Spina	Maya Moore	
Antonio Teti	Vonnie Yeung	
	Moxie Zhang	
	Hashem	
Administration	Amena	
Sabrina Singh-Itwarie		
Sandy Kofalvi		

# Welcome & Introductions ~ S. Singh-Itwarie & S. Kofalvi

- Welcome by S. Kofalvi
- Introduction of parents in attendance

## Land Acknowledgment

• Land Acknowledgement read by S. Singh-Itwarie

## African Ancestor Acknowledgment

• African Ancestor Acknowledgement read by S. Singh-Itwarie

### **Approval of Minutes**

• Approval of Minutes by Jodie, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Lucy

# Review of Council Norms - S. Singh-Itwarie, S. Kofalvi

• Video – Role of the School Council watched by all in attendance

#### Elections - S. Kofalvi

- Names put forward for nominations and present:
  - Lucy Spina
  - Melissa Louie
  - Jodie Montagnese
  - Houda Alassad
  - Diana Shin
  - Sukaina Sheraly
  - Raquel Batres
  - Maria Ustyuzhaniova
  - Diana Li
  - Cassandre Lennox
  - Lisa Schiafone
  - Hyemin Lee
  - Rocco Di Lena
  - Andrea Bean
  - Satareh Yaghini
  - Malahat Ahmad
  - Maya Moore
  - Maryam Movaselli
  - Rojeen Salemi
  - Irene Petre
  - Farida Babrawalla

### **Executive Members for 2024-2025**

• Executive Members – Call for interest for Executive Committee members.

#### Chair/Co-chairs

- Current co-chair (Jodie) discussed what is involved in the position.
- Voting member who would like to nominate themselves as co-chair Farida, Cassandre, Irene,
  Rojeen
  - As there were 4 interested members, there was a motion put forth to vote on how council will move forward. Will council go ahead with 2, 3, or 4 members in the role?
  - A check of the constitution determined that voting members are to elect two (2) co-chairs into the role.
  - Candidates briefly discussed themselves and their interest in the role.

- Elections were held.
- Irene Petre & Cassandre Lennox named co-chairs for the 2024-2025 school year.

#### **Treasurer**

- Current co-treasurer (Rocco) discussed what is involved in the position.
- Voting member(s) who want to nominate themselves as treasurer Rocco Di Lena & Satareh Yaghini.
- Rocco Di Lena & Satareh Yaghini named co-treasurers for the 2024-2025 school year.

#### Secretary

- Current secretary (Lisa) discussed what is involved in the position.
- Voting member(s) who want to nominate themselves as secretary Lisa Schiafone & Malahat Ahmad
- Lisa Schiafone & Malahat Ahmad named co-secretaries for the 2024-2025 school year.

### **Dates for 2024/2025 Council Meetings**

- Discussion surrounding meeting dates Will meetings take place on a consistent day of the week or will they be rotating?
- Admin asked council for Monday Thursday Availability
  - Ranked based on availability (most to least) Wednesday, Thursday, Tuesday, Monday
- A motion was put forth to vote for Tuesday/Wednesday rotation or consistent Wednesday evening.
  - Tuesday/Wednesday evening rotation Voted as our meeting dates for 2024/2025

#### Meeting dates:

- October 1, 2024
- October 30, 2024
- January 14, 2025
- February 12, 2025
- April 8, 2025
- May 7, 2025
- June 10, 2025
- Brief discussion around hot lunch and the new vendor that is being considered for the school year.
  More information will follow.
- Committees from 2023-2024 school year briefly introduced to council members
  - Volunteers
  - Fundraising
  - Mental Health and Well Being (Healthy Schools) Committee
  - Parent Engagement Committee
  - Student Programs Committee

- Grants Committee
- Communication Committee
- Next Meeting: October 30, 2024